Simple Pick-me-up Pico de Gallo Recipe

I created this recipe to add a flavourful twist to my tacos. I ate vegetables all day yesterday so it was time for some protein (i.e., tacos for dinner). OK, let’s be honest, I was looking to reward myself with a taco dinner (which is protein-based, so there!). I created this recipe on the spot, based on my recollection of pico de gallo’s appearance. I knew it was made with tomatoes and onions and then I improvised the rest. My tacos tasted amazing and yours will too!

Delicious pick-me-up for tacos and dip. (Photo credit: iStock.)

Ingredients

  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1 dash of taco seasoning
  • sprinkling of dried parsley bits

Directions

  1. Dice the tomato and onion, then mix.
  2. Add a tablespoon of water and a dash of taco seasoning; be sure to stir the seasoning with the water, tomato and onion to make sure it dissolves.
  3. Sprinkle on dried parsley bits. Then scoop the pico de gallo into your taco (heavenly taco recipe here) and enjoy!

Serves 4 tacos

Daily food group servings
Grain: 0
Fruits&veg: 1
Protein alt: 0
Dairy: 0

Nutritional information
Calories: 34
Fat: 0.2 g
Cholesterol: 0
Sodium: 2332 mg
Carbohydrates: 7.7 g
Sugars: 4 g
Fibre: 1.7 g
Protein: 1.2 g
Vitamin A: 12%
Vitamin C: 23%
Calcium: 2%
Iron: 2%

You may also like:

2 Responses

Leave a Reply

