Avocado and egg salad recipe—as yummy as it seems odd

It sounds weird, doesn’t it? Avocado…with eggs? My mom thought of this. I raised an eyebrow at her but thirty minutes later, the salad was sitting in the freezer (to cool off) and a few minutes after that, it was sitting in my stomach, and I was happy.

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs (to be hard-boiled)
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp mayonnaise
  • 1 green onion stalk, chopped
  • salt

Directions

  1. Place two eggs in a pot of water and set to boil. Remove the eggs 8 minutes after the water reaches boiling point. (And, obviously, turn off the stove.)
  2. Allow the eggs to cool while you peel an avocado and slice it into medium-sized pieces.
  3. Once eggs are cool, peel off the shell and slice the eggs.
  4. Mix eggs and avocado in a bowl with olive oil, mayonnaise and green onions. Optional: add salt for additional flavour.

Nutrition information
Calories: 368
Fat: 35 g
Saturated fat: 7 g
Cholesterol: 217 mg
Sodium: 187 mg
Carbs: 7 g
Sugar: 1.1 g
Fibre: 5 g
Protein: 7.8 g
Vitamin A: 8%
Vitamin C: 10%
Iron: 6%
Calcium: 3%

You may also like:

4 Responses

  1. I love egg salad too. Here is my favorite Danish egg salad which contains sweet pickles and dill: http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/05/danish-egg-salad/

  2. I was happy to learn about adding avocado to egg salad. That’s a great idea. Feel free to post your link to that recipe too. I’ll try it out some day.

  3. Thanks, Michael! Did you mean you’d like me to add the link on your blog post? Let me know if you like it with avocado once you do try; I was skeptical at first, but (as you can read in my blog post above) avocado and egg taste really good together! I think it’s the shared texture, perhaps.

Leave a Reply

