Confessions of a Vegetarian: I ate vegetables for dinner (and I got full!)

Extra, extra, read all about it–you can get full off vegetables! The following conversation can never again take place with blissful ignorance:

You: I’m hungry.
Parent, guardian, or friend-who-thinks-he-or-she-knows-everything-there-is-to-know-about-health (is that me?): Eat a fruit or vegetable.
You: That won’t fill me up!

After a prolonged trip (thank the subway and bus for coordinating a delay in services), I arrive home and happily and politely greet my family before asking the inevitable: “What’s for dinner?”

My sister snickers as my mother tells me, “You’re looking at it.”

For a split second, the hungry side of my brain blurts, “Nooo, all I see are salads!” before the healthy part of my brain musteres a confident, “I only had one serving of fruits and vegetables today.”

(Spssst. I admit I proclaimed rather loudly, “At least I’ll be hungry enough to eat nachos tonight! Last night’s dinner was so filling that I couldn’t.” Somehow it’s always about the nachos, isn’t it?)

I proceeded to dig into my meal, 95% of which was composed of vegetables! And I was uneasy about 10% of those vegetables, but thanks to a) a determination to eat healthy, b) a willingness to try and c) hunger, nothing tasted bad!

Tip: Mashed potatoes are the almighty ally. Mixing questionable vegetables into your mashed potatoes masks their flavour!

Here’s what I ate, if you’re interested in sharing the experience of a truly healthy meal or, at least, attempting to prove or disprove that you can, indeed, get full off vegetables.

1. The tomato and cucumber salad recipe acts as a base for this hearty salad, but try adding other vegetables as well, such as mushroom, avocado, eggplant and pitted olives.

2. Boil sweet potato, peel and slice into round entities. Add olive and salt, and top with roasted red pepper. (I’m not a huge fan of red pepper–but I couldn’t even taste it!)

3. Boil regular potatoes, peel and mash. Add milk for moisture and (optional) salt for flavour. Chop and fry onions to mix; it’s my favourite way to eat mashed potatoes!

4. The 5% of the meal that was not made of vegetables consisted of sliced cheese (hello, dairy) and hummus (a dash of protein, anyone?)

Believe it or not, c’est délicieux!

2 Responses

  1. Hi Marissa, Thanks for commenting on my blog. Thought I’d drop over here to see what you’re up to. I love vegetables, but I hate the time it takes to make a good veggie meal (so easy to throw a hunk of meat on the barbie!). Your blog makes it seem easy, so I’ll be back for tips!

    Cheers,
    Penny

    • Hi, Penny! It’s so good to hear from you!

      That’s so funny, because I find it so much quicker to prepare vegetables than meat! My meals are a lot quicker in comparison to the rest of my family. Then again, if we’re talking about throwing meat on the BBQ, I don’t eat grilled vegetables! That fits under my “not a huge fan of vegetables but have come a long way” category 😉

      Tonight, for example, I plan on chopping avocado, cucumber and tomato, then tossing it in olive oil for a healthy supper (it’s a variation of this salad recipe). Maybe popping a couple spanakopitas in the toaster oven. Yum!

      I hope you like the recipes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

