Homemade French Fries for the win!

Note: That’s the first time I’ve ever said “for the win.”

I’ve always preferred homemade French fries to store bought or fast food—and believe me, your body does too!! The homemade fries I really love are fried in oil, but this is the I-want-to-eat-soon-and-I-don’t-want-to-make-or-clean-a-big-mess version.

Your fries won't look like this, but they'll taste so good! Photo credit: iStock

Ingredients

  • 1 small potato
  • olive oil

Directions

  1. Preheat toaster oven to 350°F convection.
  2. Peel potato and wash.
  3. Slice potato into French fry—preferred shapes. (I go for medium-thick strips.)
  4. Spread French fries on aluminum pan and drizzle olive oil over to keep from sticking.
  5. Cook for 8 minutes and then flip fries over. Cook for another 8 minutes or until fries reach desired amount of cooked-ness (yeaaaah…).
  6. Serve with ketchup, or try BBQ sauce or mustard! (Or is that just me? No meat = no hot dogs = I miss mustard.)

Serves 1 (Easily serves more if you add more potato! Even a medium-sized potato is too much for one person.)

Daily food group servings
Fruits&veg:
1

2 Responses

  1. I make fries like this too, and they’re delicious…you should try sprinkling a little salt and pepper on top before putting them in the oven 🙂 It adds a little sharpness.

  2. Hey, Miriam! It’s really neat to learn someone else makes fries the same way. Pepper, I’m noticing, does add quite a nice flavour, thanks for the tip!

    I made the fries today and my parents said they never tasted better (of all the times I’ve made them, anyway lol). They came out crispy 🙂 I forgot to add salt, but it seems the olive oil used to make them did the trick!

Leave a Reply

