Confessions of a Vegetarian: I Love Animals, but I Don’t Love Vegetables!

I have a confession to make. I’m a vegetarian, but I don’t love vegetables. I’m what my boyfriend lovingly calls a “beanian.” While most vegetarians eat veggies, I eat beans: refried in tacos, Romano with rice, kidney beans in chili, chick peas with pasta. Where are my vegetables?

Until a month ago, my vegetable intake was limited: lettuce in salads, frozen veggies for a quick stir-fry and the occasional baked potato.

But what about spinach? And I’m not talking about the spinach found inside a frozen Spanakopita. Broccoli? Okay, so I’d eat a leaf or two when it showed up at the dinner table, but that was it.

Fast forward to Christmas 2009. I received a vegetarian cookbook for Christmas from a friend. And not just any vegetarian cookbook: a vegetable lover’s cookbook. It’s titled Vegetable Heaven by Mollie Katzen. This was given to me, the girl who basically skipped the roasted vegetables course at a wedding last summer.

As I flipped through the cookbook, something woke up inside of me. The food lover in me loved this book. I found myself taking notes on the most appealing recipes, planning to cook a new meal every week, and for a New Year’s potluck, I opted to make Vietnamese salad rolls for the first time. This was the beginning of my foray into a varied vegetable diet.

And guess what—it’s working. For the past month, I’ve chosen meals based on what food groups I was lacking. If I find out I’m having pasta and tomato sauce for dinner, I’m sure to have a veggie burger with vegetables for lunch (to get in that protein and vegetables).

When I was little, I used to pick the olives out of the rapini my mother prepared (I loooove olives). Now, I’ve not only been eating rapini, but I’ve acquired a taste for it. Rapini went from being “bearable” to “neutral” to actually crossing the line into tasting good! I also eat asparagus for the first time, and I’m working on eggplant.

So join me as I continue my adventure into healthy vegetarian eating over the course of the next year. I’m picking up good lifelong habits, and you can too.

Your contributions are appreciated!

You may also like:

Find out how my relatives reacted to the news (funny stories):

One Response

  1. […] that means eating vegetables. If you recall, I’m not your average vegetarian—vegetables don’t come naturally to me. Or at least, they didn’t used to. Things are a little easier now that I’ve discovered […]

Leave a Reply

